James Milner sums up popular opinion on Mohamed Salah's award-winning goal

Cristiano Ronaldo skips the awards ceremony in London on Monday as his former Real Madrid teammate Luka Modric beat him for the award

Cristiano Ronaldo skips the awards ceremony in London on Monday as his former Real Madrid teammate Luka Modric beat him for the award

Ronaldo and Messi had won every FIFA World Player of the Year award, which was renamed the FIFA Ballon d'Or in 2010 and The Best in 2016, since 2007 when Kaka was victorious.

Check out the best tweets and make up your own mind.

The Egyptian striker received the award from musician and Manchester City fan Noel Gallagher and striker Didier Drogba, after his goal against Everton was voted in ahead of the other contending strikes, including the highly fancied overhead kicks from Cristiano Ronaldo against Juventus and Gareth Bale against Liverpool, both in the Champions League.

"Congrats Mohamed Salah on your seventh best goal from last season winning goal of the year #baller #topbin #oneofmanyworldies", Milner tweeted.

Iranian officials blame USA and Israel for deadly ambush on military parade
Women and children are among the dead, as people gathered to mark the anniversary of the start of the 1980-1988 war with Iraq. Iran's Revolutionary Guard is a paramilitary force answerable only to Supreme Leader Ayatollah Ali Khamenei.

Luka Modric is the favourite to pick up the prize.

Messi could only finish fifth with 9.81% behind Kylian Mbappe (10.52%). That is why Modric has the better chance of winning the award by the virtue of his silver medal from the Federation Internationale de Football Association world cup in Russia.

The award ceremony will be held Monday in London.

FIFA Fair play award: Presented by Pierluigi Collina and Paolo Maldini, the award was won by Lennart Thy.

Champion golfer found murdered on course
A second acquaintance told police that Richards arrived at his nearby home Monday "disheveled and covered in blood, sand and water".

However, Portugal's last 16 exit to Uruguay in Russian Federation and Ronaldo's failure to score in the semi-finals or final of the Champions League opened the door for Modric.

France's World Cup-winning coach Didier Deschamps won the best coach of the year prize in recognition for his work in leading Les Bleus to success in Russian Federation.

Lyon boss Reynald Pedros did win the award for best women's coach, though, after winning the Champions League with the French giants.

Sané strikes early as dominant Man City brush Fulham aside
Whatever was said appeared to work, with City racing into the lead within minutes through Leroy Sane . It turns out I made the right move". "He deserves to play all the minutes he plays".

Recommended News

We are pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news.
Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper.
Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.